Oregon Battle of the Books

What is Oregon Battle of the Books?


From the official Oregon Battle of the Books website
"The Oregon Battle of the Books (OBOB) is a statewide voluntary reading motivation and comprehension program. 
Students in 3rd-12th grade, regardless of ability, are exposed to quality literature representing a variety of literary styles and viewpoints.
OBOB’s mission is to encourage and recognize students who enjoy reading, to broaden reading interests, to increase reading comprehension, promote academic excellence, and to promote cooperative learning and teamwork among students."

What can you find at the Beaverton City Library for Oregon Battle of the Books?


  1. OBOB Book Club: 3-5
  2. Practice Battles: 3-8
  3. Find OBOB Books: 3-12

Register online one month before each book club.

Location Day Date Time Book Registration
Main Wednesday September 20 4-5 p.m. We the Children Register Online
Main Wednesday October 4 4-5 p.m. I Survived the Eruption of
Mt. Saint Helens, 1980
Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday October 10 4-5 p.m. Blast Off! Register Online
Main Wednesday October 18 4-5 p.m. Masterpiece Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday October 24 4-5 p.m. Poppy Register Online
Main Wednesday November 1 4-5 p.m. Ella Enchanted Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday November 14 4-5 p.m. EllRay Jakes the
​Recess King
Register Online
Main Wednesday November 15 4-5 p.m. Door By the Staircase Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday November 28 4-5 p.m. Wild Wings Register Online
Main Wednesday December 6 4-5 p.m. Dash Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday December 12 4-5 p.m. Wild Life Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday  December 19 4-5 p.m. The Case of the Case
​of Mistaken Identity
Register Online
Main Wednesday December 20 4-5 p.m. Poppy Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday January 9 4-5 p.m. My Life in Dogs Years Register Online
Main Wednesday January 10 4-5 p.m. Mystery on Museum Mile Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday January 23 4-5 p.m. Esperanza Rising Register Online
Main Wednesday January 24 4-5 p.m. The Red Pencil Register Online
Main Wednesday February 7 4-5 p.m. The Case of the Case 
of Mistaken Identity
Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday February 13 4-5 p.m. Ella Enchanted Register Online
Main Wednesday February 21 4-5 p.m. Wild Wings Register Online
Murray Scholls Tuesday February 27 4-5 p.m. Practice Battle and Celebration Register Online
Main Wednesday March 7 4-5 p.m. Practice Battle and Celebration Register Online